Alaska in bloom

Alaska summer is a relatively quick season. So, I guess I shouldn’t be that surprised by the sudden and overwhelming emergence of wildflowers. Somehow, in this cold and wet place, I just wasn’t quite expecting it though. 

It’s heartwarming to know that flowers are much like everything else here: a combination of familiar and new. 

crimson columbine
chocolate lily
I know it’s summer because flowers are blooming and tourists are arriving en masse and the sun is bold and intense on the rare clear days in Portage Valley. But I have to admit I long for something a little bit warmer. 

Paul is coming for a visit in a few days and we’re going to go in search of just that, exploring some of the inland areas of Alaska that aren’t rainforest wet. Can’t wait for Paul to be here to share this beautiful place with me (though, with his many years of having lived in AK, I’ll be relying on him to play tour guide for me) and to finally get down to Seward and up to Denali and Fairbanks. 

lupine

Counting down the days until I’m headed out to explore more new places!

Alaska in bloom

2 thoughts on “Alaska in bloom

Leave a Reply

