of milestones

Happy new year to you. And happy three month DC anniversary to me. I can’t believe that I’ve been here that long already. Not that time has flown exactly, but it is pretty inexorable.

DC has been a pretty hard sell for me. And I’m still not entirely sold on it. There are a lot of perks to urban living and east coast living, but it’s no Yosemite by a long shot. And yet, I’m hanging in there – finding all the cool diversions that I can and, honestly, reminding myself that nothing lasts forever. Western parks and wilderness will call again and we still have a lot of world left to explore beyond this experience.

In honor of the quarter-year that’s gone by, I’ve collected a few observations (in no particular order). Some ways, DC has been exactly what I expected. In some ways, it’s completely surprised me.

  • It’s so very windy here. Maybe because it’s also so very flat?
  • There aren’t nearly as many pigeons as I expected.
  • But there is a seemingly healthy rat population.
  • There’s a noticeable lack of graffiti. Maybe because I haven’t explored those parts of town yet?
  • People smile less here. I’m told city etiquette frowns on eye contact.
  • There are lots of trees and green spaces tucked throughout the city.
  • “Community” is a foreign word to most.
  • Museum-going is one of the things to do — and there are a lot of choose from.
  • There’s no sense of stewardship. Litter and general dirtiness linger everywhere.
  • Everything smells weird.
  • People are really into public transit. Metro in rush hour = human crush.
  • The sky is a weird purply pink at night. I miss stars.
  • The food. When it’s good, it’s really good. And it’s often good.

Up next, some of those cool diversions and interesting places to be had in these parts…

of milestones

One thought on “of milestones

Leave a Reply

